3d Print- Vase shape

Hallo allerseites,

Guten Tag.

I have been lately working and experimenting with 3d printing.

I wanted to gift my mother in law something on her birthday, I went through several pages online, that what can we make with 3d prints(gifting purpose) and i spotted vase and it clicked me that was it.

I started checking out shapes and designs and i liked a particular kind of design.

Voronoi design(fracture design).

Since i work in 3d industry i had a little bit of knowledge of which software will help me achieve this easily or conveniently – and that was Cinema 4d

In cinema 4d there is a direct option to create voronoi fractures in mograph menu.

I tried various versions approaches, as you can see below. And the last one was the one.

I wanted the abstract part to blend with the solid part. That was a bit difficult to figure out. Referred few videos that showed how voronoi can even use matrix(mograph menu option) to create more patterns, so Blended both Voronoi and matrix. And the last bit offset fragmentation 2.0 with invert checked and all of these settings helped me get the desired output.

final output had to be done with supports – A little bit of sanding would definitely increase the beauty of the model. But yes this is the final output.

Have a great day all.

Leave a comment